Worlds of Education

EI Regions

published 1 February 2012 updated 16 January 2018

Constitutional provisions

Article 13 (Regional Structures) of the EI Constitution governs the establishment and functioning of the EI regions.

  1. Education International shall establish five (5) regions:
    1. Africa;
    2. North America and the Caribbean;
    3. Asia and the Pacific;
    4. Europe; and
    5. Latin America
  2. The definition of regions and the allocations of countries to them shall be established in the by-laws.
  3. A regional structure may be established to:
    1. advise the Executive Board on policies and activities to be undertaken by the Education International in the concerned region;
    2. develop and promote policies in relation to any regional intergovernmental body and represent member organisations at that body.
  4. A Regional Structure shall be governed according to By-Laws approved by the Executive Board. Reports of such a Regional Structure shall be submitted to the Executive Board.
  5. The Education International may also establish such sub-regional and cross-regional structures as it deems necessary to provide advice to the Executive Board on policies and activities which may be undertaken in countries in a sub-region or in countries in more than one region, where the countries are linked by the existence of an intergovernmental body for the governments of the countries concerned, or by a cultural or linguistic inheritance. Such structures shall be governed by By-Laws approved by the Executive Board. (In 2011, the EI Executive Board established the Arab Countries Cross Regional Structure (ACCRS).)

Allocation of countries to Regions

Please click here to download a list.

The opinions expressed in this blog are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect any official policies or positions of Education International.