EI Regions

Constitutional provisions

Article 13 (Regional Structures) of the EI Constitution governs the establishment and functioning of the EI regions.

(a) The Education International shall establish five (5) regions:
(i) Africa;
(ii) North America and the Caribbean;
(iii) Asia and the Pacific;
(iv) Europe; and
(v) Latin America

(b) The definition of regions and the allocations of countries to them shall be established in the by-laws.

(c) A regional structure may be established to:
(i) advise the Executive Board on policies and activities to be undertaken by the Education International in the concerned region;
(ii) develop and promote policies in relation to any regional intergovernmental body and represent member organisations at that body.

(d) A Regional Structure shall be governed according to By-Laws approved by the Executive Board. Reports of such a Regional Structure shall be submitted to the Executive Board.

(e) The Education International may also establish such sub-regional and cross-regional structures as it deems necessary to provide advice to the Executive Board on policies and activities which may be undertaken in countries in a sub-region or in countries in more than one region, where the countries are linked by the existence of a an intergovernmental body for the governments of the countries concerned, or by a cultural or linguistic inheritance. Such structures shall be governed by By-Laws approved by the Executive Board.

Regional websites

More information on EI regional activities, regional by-laws etc. can be found on the regional websites:



Europe (ETUCE)

North America and the Caribbean

Latin America

Share this page