Congress welcomes new EI Executive Board

published 26 July 2019 updated 26 July 2019

The torch was passed on the last day of Education International’s 8th World Congress as the new Executive Board was officially welcomed and delegates paid tribute to outgoing members.

The elections saw a considerable increase in the number of women voted onto the Executive Board, rising from 10 in the 2015-2019 mandate to 15 in the new configuration. Susan Hopgood, EI President, stated: “We are always advocating for gender parity in our unions and in all companies and institutions. It was essential that our own Executive Board embodied that spirit. Congress sent a very strong message with their choice, electing 15 women and 12 men to the organisation’s leadership. We are very much looking forward to working together and taking EI further in the next four years.”


Susan Hopgood (AEU/Australia) – President

David Edwards (United States) – General Secretary

Mugwena Maluleke (SADTU/South Africa) – Vice-President Africa

Masaki Okajima (JTU/Japan) – Vice-President Asia-Pacific

Marlis Tepe (GEW/Germany) - Vice-President Europe

Roberto Franklin de Leão (CNTE/Brazil) - Vice-President Latin America

Lily Eskelsen (NEA/USA) - Vice-President North America/Caribbean


Marième Sakho Dansokho - SYPROS/Senegal

Yohannes Benti Chokorso - ETA/Ethiopia

Hyunjin Kim - KTU/Korea

Ram Pal Singh - AIPTF/India

Johanna Jaara Åstrand - Lärarförbundet/Sweden

Sławomir Broniarz - ZNP/Poland

Sonia Alesso - CTERA/Argentina

Nelson Alarcón - FECODE/Colombia

Dianne Woloschuk - CTF-FCE/Canada

Randi Weingarten - AFT/United States


Jalila Al Salman - BTA/Bahrain

Raymond D. Basilio - ACT/Philippines

Mary Bousted - NEU/United Kingdom

Alfonso Cepeda Salas  - SNTE/Mexico

Steffen Handal - UEN/Norway

Manuela Mendonça - FENPROF/Portugal

Nadine A. Molloy - JTA/Jamaica

Hélène Nekarmbaye - SET/Chad

Marjolaine Perreault - CSQ/Canada

Roberto Trochez - COLPROSUMAH/Honduras

The new Executive Board will work to implement the policy directions decided by the 8th EI World Congress.